Let’s Walk & Talk

IMG_1806

Today was similar to my bike riding kind of days. Yesterday there was rain. This pic was taken a while back. After a ride there was time to fly a kite. The days are nice and long now that May has passed. Relax is a word that comes to mind when I ride with no angst. If all days could be enjoyed like these moments the world would know peace.

Angst is conjured up with my thoughts around scheduled events. I can have an evening event to attend and the hours leading up to it will feel laden with tension around my thoughts about attending the event. What to wear, what vehicle has enough gas to transport me, will there be any scheduling issues, will the humans I reside with (who haven’t communicated all day) decide to unleash their thoughts and ideas 5 minutes before departure, or will I have to let the dog out one last time before I leave and clean up the cat hairball vomit before the dog gets to it. And on, and on it goes if I allow my thoughts to get the best of me. Do those things happen often? Yes, but do they have to torture me? They do if I let them.

I love to read and I surf the information highway as often as I can. I am an information junkie. My reading these past few days have brought me to reflect on my blessings as a way to calm the mind. Deborah King encourages people to journal and list the good things that the day brings and Spirit or God allows us. I grew up singing “Count your many blessings, name them one by one,” so, this is not a new concept. It is, however, one I look forward to doing like a bedtime ritual. My thoughts around counting or looking for the blessings of the day like one would hunt Easter eggs, some in broad daylight others behind the stumps, has brought me to my bright idea. Not a new one to the world, but one I realize I am ready to pursue during my Walk and Talk Time at the lake.

It showed up as I walked along the lake’s water edge. Why not ask people to meet at the parking lot by the playground and walk with me to the large stones about 20ish minutes south to meet for at least 10 minutes of gratitude? “10 Minutes of Gratitude!” What a great idea. It takes 20 minutes to walk and contemplate the blessings they want to share, then 10 minutes of gratitude at the stones as a type of silent meditation, followed by 20ish minutes of sharing the blessings walking back. There is power in like-minded mindfulness. The scriptures say, “Where two or more are gathered in my name, there am I in the midst.” Matthew 18:20 KJV

Why would this not bless those that make time for it? It is a win-win event. Blessings are always a great idea. Are you in? Leave a message here or contact me on Walk & Talk Time FB page or  Twitter to schedule a time. Let’s Walk and Talk! It’s Time!

Leave a Reply

